Out of the Norm

Standard

Today I am doing something slightly out of the norm for me. Well, besides sitting around waiting. That is pretty on schedule in my case.

Did I mention I am the oldest in my composition class? Well, one of the younger students in my class asked for my help with her annotated bibliography for her research paper, as well as another paper. These assignments were due yesterday, but if I can help her, why not?

So, I have been sitting in Starbucks for just short of an hour listening the the hustle and bustle that manages to make its way past my SoundSport headphones. It is pretty crowded for me, and I had lucked out in being able to get a table with enough space, and access to an outlet. Pretty good, right?

Those the chairs suck. My back is killing me and my butt is numb. I have no idea how long we are going to be here, but hopefully it is not for too long. I want to go home, read, and unwind. I only managed to get a pathetic couple of hours of sleep last night.

Unless I am tucked away in my car, or at home – I am not the best at killing time. There is always the paranoia of people looking over my shoulder, and looking at what I am doing. So, that cuts out Tumblr, YouTube, and my books on my computer. I ended up playing some Firefly on Netflix while I finished my Chipotle from next door.

Do you know how hard it is to memorize a new keyboard? Without any visual aids beyond the Google Korean keyboard input on my phone? It is so annoying trying to type on my laptop, and reference that at the same time. So, there has been a bit of brainstorming trying to figure out how I could label the keys on my laptop without permanently doing so. I came up with the idea of getting some kind of transparent film and writing on character on one, then sandwiching the written character (in metallic inc for visibility) under another clear layer and sticking that to the keys individually. However… it has to be ultra fine, and transparent. I have yet to find an ultra fine tip metallic permanent marker/pen, or the proper film. When I was at Office Depot tryin to find said pens earlier, I gave in, and bought some “removable” scotch tape. However… it i s definitely not transparent. I learned this after removing the paper back, and pulling the tape forward. So… That was a fail. I will just have to try JoAnns. I am supposed to be going to Sanford tomorrow with my mom to visit my brother’s park to remember his birthday.

 

He would have been 41 this year. And 9 years gone from this world in May.

 

We miss you.

Leave a Reply

