Should I Take It As A Compliment Or What?

Standard

As I was opening the door to the suite of my psychiatrist there was another person approaching with a rolling tote behind.

“Good morning!”

“Good morning. How are you?”

“Great, thanks! And yourself?”

Morning person, ah.

“Terrific.”
All the while I am anxiously twitching waiting to see if maybe she was someone who worked withy doctor and she was one of the three I hadn’t met yet – thus shared my destination and I would of course hold the door for her.

“Do you work there?” Keyword. There. Not here.

Okay. Won’t be needing to hold the door then.

“Oh, no… No I don’t…””

You weren’t expecting me to straight up say I was a patient opening the door to a psychiatric office, did you?

She repeated she thought I may have worked there and I repeated my awkward denial.

Is it compliment? I chose to wear the dragon dress with my black (p)leather jacket and my hair in a French braid.

But the nice and goody feelings departed quickly after that.

I sat down to wait to begin the testing, MMPI-II and MCMI-III, and the door opened to the doctor side of the office revealing the older woman I saw at my last visit working with another patient.

I was in the middle of typing this very post, phone on silent mind you –

“I am going to need you to turn off your phone.” Pointed look.

“Yeah, sure, of course.” I turned it off and started gathering my things and stood up for an introduction.

Nothing? Really? Okay then.

I stepped into the door way and she made her way in front of me in that tiny hallway.

“If you would follow me.”

Nope. I like this room. That chair has some personality. Right here.
We got to the  ‘testing room’ and I went to sit down at the little table with the scantrons.

Oh, high school. I remember you.

It was a total of nearly 750 true or false questions. Eh. Easy enough. I was however entertained by the questions like “I have flew across the Atlantic over thirty times this year,” and multiple repeats of earlier questions. Baseliners I assumed.

Now I sit and wait in said testing room after handing my scantrons to Lauren to see the good Doctor. Am I the only one who says that in a Germanic accent. “The Dok-tore”. Young Frankenstein and Gene Wilder anyone?

This post was drafted from mobile device and is more than likely riddled with typos and grammatical errors. Please forgive and forget folks. If it is not too much of a bother, that is.

One thought on “Should I Take It As A Compliment Or What?

Leave a Reply

